OIC Member States in Figures --> Union of the Comoros

 Union of the Comoros

Location and Geography

Comoros is a group of islands in the Mozambique Channel off the South-east coast of South Africa. The archipelago lies between the East African coast and the North-western coast of Madagascar. There are four major islands scattered along the North-west, South-east axis. Three of the islands Njazidja, Nzwani and Mwali form the Comoros, and the fourth island, Mayotte, is governed separately. All of the Comoros islands are volcanic in origin. Njazidja, the largest island, has an active volcano at Mount Kartala. The terrain varies in the interior of the islands from steep mountains to low hills and fertile valleys. The climate is tropical marine with a rainy season. Coastal areas are extremely hot and humid. The interior regions are somewhat cooler.