OIC Member States in Figures --> Republic of Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)

 Republic of Cote d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast)

Location and Geography

Côte d’Ivoire is located on the coast of West Africa. It is bounded by Liberia and Guinea on the South-west, by Mali and Burkina Faso on the North, by Ghana on the East, and by the Atlantic Ocean on the South. Lying close to the Equator, Côte d’Ivoire is tropical both in surface features and climate. The Northern half of the country consists of high savannah. Most of the Western border is shaped by mountain ranges culminating in Mount Nimba. It has four natural regions; the coastal fringe, the equatorial forest zone, the cultivated forest, and the Northern savannah and four main rivers; Comoe, Bandaman, Sassandra and Cavally. The middle of the country has suffered deforestation in favour of coffee and cocoa plants. Côte d’Ivoire is a transitional zone between the moist equatorial climate and the dry tropical climate.