OIC Member States in Figures --> Republic of Guinea-Bissau

 Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Location and Geography

Guinea-Bissau is bounded by Senegal to the North, Guinea to the East and South, and the Atlantic Ocean to the West. The terrain is made up of low coastal plains rising to savanna in the East. Meadows and pastures cover nearly half the land. Forests and woodlands are spread over one-third of the area. Guinea-Bissau also extends through the Bijagos Archipelago, a series of scenic islands off the Western Coast. Many rivers cut through the country and the sea encroaches deeply into the land. Only a few areas are cultivated; inland, the country is largely savanna while the coasts are covered with forests. The climate is tropical with only two seasons. There is a monsoon-type rainy season coupled with South-westerly winds blowing from June to November.