OIC Member States in Figures --> Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Location and Geography

Guyana is situated on the North-eastern coast of South America. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean in the North, Suriname in the East, Brazil in the South and South-west and Venezuela in the North-west. About 35 percent of the country lies in the Amazon Basin. The name Guyana is derived from an American aboriginal word meaning ‘land of many waters’. The word aptly describes the country with its extensive network of rivers, waterfalls and creeks. The terrain is covered mostly with rolling highlands. Low coastal plains and savanna lie to the South. Forests and woodlands cover 83 percent of the area. The mountains include the Pakaraima Range which lies along the Western boundary between the Waini and Rupununi Rivers near the Brazilian Border. Since it is situated in the tropics, Guyana has an equatorial climate.