OIC Member States in Figures --> Kyrgyz Republic

Kyrgyz Republic

Location and Geography

Kyrgyz Republic is a Central Asian country located between the Pamir-Alai Mountains in the South-west and the Tien Shan Mountains in the North-east. The country is bordered by China, Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan and Tajikistan. It is mostly forested with many lakes, the largest one and at the same time the second biggest in the world being Issyk-Kul. Agriculture is performed in the Chu River valley in the North and the Fergana valley in the South. Over half of the cultivated area is irrigated. The flora of foothill plains is desert and half desert. Kyrgyz Republic is surrounded by deserts and plains in the North, West, and South-east, making the contrast with the climate and landscape of its mountainous interior. The climate is generally cold in winter and desert-like hot in summer. The air is dry throughout the year.