OIC Member States in Figures --> Republic of Senegal

Republic of Senegal

Location and Geography

Senegal is located on the bulge of West Africa. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean in the West, Mali in the East, and Guinea and Guinea-Bissau in the South. The river Senegal in the North separates it from Mauritania. The country is mostly flat or rolling plain with savanna-type vegetation. Four major rivers, the Senegal, Saloum, Gambia and Casamance, flowing almost parallel from East to West, drain the country. A quarter of the land is arable, while meadows, pastures, forests and woodland cover half of the land. Senegal has two well-defined seasons: winter and summer. Generally, Senegal is considered a dry country with pleasant temperatures.