SESRIC






Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI: perspectives et défis

La croissance substantielle de l'activité touristique internationale est l'un des phénomènes économiques et sociaux les plus remarquables du siècle dernier. L'activité touristique internationale se caractérise par une répartition géographique continue et une diversification des destinations touristiques. Bien que l’activité internationale du tourisme soit encore concentrée dans les régions développées de l'Europe et des Amériques, on observe également une prolifération substantielle de nouveaux marchés touristiques dans les régions en développement.

Le tourisme international est devenu l'une des principales activités économiques et une source importante de recettes en devises et d'emplois dans de nombreux pays membres de l'OCI. Il a donc fait l'objet d'une grande attention dans les stratégies nationales de développement et a été mis à l'ordre du jour de nombreuses réunions intergouvernementales. Depuis 2000, les ministres du tourisme de l'OCI se sont réunis à dix reprises pour discuter des principaux problèmes et défis auxquels est confronté le secteur du tourisme dans les pays de l'OCI et élaborer une action islamique commune pour le développement d'un secteur touristique durable.

Le SESRIC a régulièrement préparé le rapport "Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI : perspectives et défis" pour faciliter la discussion et le débat lors de la Conférence islamique des ministres du tourisme (CIMT). Le rapport tente d'évaluer la performance et le rôle économique du secteur du tourisme international dans les pays membres de l'OCI. Il analyse les indicateurs traditionnellement utilisés comme les arrivées de touristes internationaux et les recettes du tourisme international, tant au niveau des pays individuels qu'au niveau régional de l'OCI, pour évaluer la performance du secteur touristique des pays membres de l'OCI. The report also sheds light on some issues and challenges of tourism development and cooperation in the OIC countries and proposes a set of recommendations to serve as policy guidelines to which the attention of the member countries needs to be drawn.

Recent Issues

Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI: perspectives et défis 2017 (12 12 février 2018)

Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI: perspectives et défis 2015 (28 décembre 2015)

Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI: perspectives et défis 2013 (12 décembre 2013)

Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI: perspectives et défis 2010 (01 décembre 2010)

Tourisme international dans les pays de l'OCI: perspectives et défis 2008 (05 juin 2008)

SESRIC







International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges

The substantial growth of international tourism activity is one of the most remarkable economic and social phenomena of the past century. The international tourism activity is characterised by a continuing geographical spread and diversification of tourist destinations. Although tourism activity is still concentrated in the developed regions of Europe and the Americas, substantial proliferation of new tourist-receiving markets is also observed in the developing regions.

International tourism has become one of the main economic activities and an important source of foreign exchange earnings and employment in many OIC member countries. It has therefore been given much attention in the national development strategies and placed on the agenda of many intergovernmental gatherings. Since 2000, the OIC Ministers of Tourism met for 10 times to discuss the major issues and challenges facing the tourism sector in OIC countries and work out joint Islamic action for the development of a sustainable tourism sector.

SESRIC has been regularly preparing the report ‘International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges’ to facilitate the discussion and debate during the Islamic Conference of Tourism Ministers (ICTM). The report attempts to assess the performance and economic role of the international tourism sector in OIC member countries. It analyses the traditionally used indicators like international tourist arrivals and international tourism receipts at both the individual country and the OIC regional levels to gauge the tourism sector performance of OIC member countries. The report also sheds light on some issues and challenges of tourism development and cooperation in the OIC countries and proposes a set of recommendations to serve as policy guidelines to which the attention of the member countries needs to be drawn.

Recent Issues

International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges 2017 (12 February 2018)

International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges 2015 (28 December 2015)

International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges 2013 (12 December 2013)

International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges 2010 (01 December 2010)

International Tourism in the OIC Countries: Prospects and Challenges 2008 (05 June 2008)